## 120 SCHOOL DISTRICT LEGAL STATUS

The legal basis for public education in the school district is vested in the will of the people as expressed in the Wisconsin Constitution. Public education is primarily a state responsibility and a local school district's function.

The official name of this school district is the "School District of Wisconsin Rapids". It is classified as a unified school district and includes the City of Wisconsin Rapids; Villages of Biron, Rudolph, and Vesper; Wood County Townships of Arpin, Grand Rapids, Hansen, Rudolph, Saratoga, Seneca, Sherry, and Sigel; and Portage County Townships of Carson, Grant, and Plover.

Educational services of the school district shall be organized as a program of instruction for grades early childhood through 12. The district shall be operated as a single system by the Board of Education under the direction of the Superintendent.

The school district consists of a senior high school, an alternative high school, one junior high school, one middle school, and eight elementary schools. Other special classrooms or programs may be established as necessary.

LEGAL REF.: Wisconsin Constitution - Article X, Section 3 Section 115.01(5) - Wisconsin Statutes Chapter 120 Subchapter II

APPROVED IN PART: October 11, 1976

APROVED: November 11, 1996

REVISED: December 11, 2000 February 13, 2012