

Wisconsin Rapids Board of Education

510 Peach Street · Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494 · (715) 424-6701

John A. Krings, President John Benbow, Jr. Sandra K. Hett Larry Davis Anne Lee Katie Medina Mary E. Rayome

April 27, 2015

SPECIAL BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING

Organizational Meeting

LOCATION: Thomas A. Lenk Educational Center, 510 Peach Street, Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494

TIME: 6:00 p.m.

PRESENT: Anne Lee, Mary Rayome, Sandra Hett, John Krings, Katie Medina, John Benbow

EXCUSED: Larry Davis

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: Colleen Dickmann, Ryan Christianson, Dan Weigand

President John Krings called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Roll Call

President Krings confirmed that the Oath of Office was administered by the Board Secretary to recently elected Board members John Benbow, Jr., Katie Bielski-Medina, and Larry Davis.

Motion by Mary Rayome, seconded by Katie Medina that Colleen Dickmann, Superintendent, be appointed temporary chairman of the Board of Education meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

John Benbow nominated John Krings for the office of President of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Mary Rayome that nominations for President of the Board of Education be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for John Krings as President. Motion carried unanimously.

At this point, John Krings presided over the organizational meeting.

John Benbow nominated Mary Rayome for the office of Vice President of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations.

Motion by Anne Lee, seconded by John Benbow that nominations for Vice President of the Board of Education be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Mary Rayome as Vice President. Motion carried unanimously.

John Benbow nominated Larry Davis for the office of Clerk of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations.

Motion by Anne Lee, seconded by Katie Bielski-Medina that nominations for Clerk of the Board of Education be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Larry Davis as Clerk. Motion carried unanimously.

John Benbow nominated Katie Bielski-Medina for the office of Treasurer of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Anne Lee that nominations for Treasurer of the Board of Education be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Katie Bielski-Medina as Treasurer. Motion carried unanimously.

John Benbow nominated Maurine Hodgson to be elected as Secretary of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations.

Motion by Anne Lee, seconded by John Benbow that nominations for Secretary be closed, and a unanimous ballot be cast for Maurine Hodgson as Secretary. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Mary Rayome, seconded by John Benbow that the Board of Education continue to operate under the current operational policies, regulations, and by-laws as set forth by the Board of Education. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Anne Lee, seconded by Katie Medina that the Board of Education approve the use of the Facsimile Signatures for use in signing School District checks or orders. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Anne Lee that the Board of Education approve the Resolution Designating Public Depositories and Authorizing Withdrawal of School District monies. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Mary Rayome, seconded by Katie Medina that the Board of Education authorize the administration to use the present Facsimile signature plate for School District checks appropriately drawn. Motion carried unanimously.

President John Krings recommended the following Board Committee appointments:

- 1. John Benbow, Jr. as Chair of the Business Services Committee, with Katie Medina and Larry Davis serving as members.
- 2. Sandra Hett as Chair of the Personnel Services Committee, with Anne Lee and Mary Rayome serving as members.
- 3. Anne Lee as Chair of the Educational Services Committee, with all seven Board members serving on this committee.

President John Krings recommended the following other appointments:

- 1. Anne Lee as the delegate for the CESA 5 annual meeting.
- 2. John Benbow as the WASB Delegate for the WASB Convention in Milwaukee in January 2016, with Larry Davis appointed as the Alternate Delegate.
- 3. Mary Rayome as the WASB Legislative Representative.
- 4. Anne Lee as the Council for Instructional Improvement representative.
- 5. John Krings as the Insurance Committee representative.
- 6. John Benbow as the Trade/Construction Class Project Committee representative.
- 7. Sandra Hett, John Krings, and Mary Rayome as the WRPS/WREA Wage Negotiation Committee representatives.
- 8. Katie Bielski-Medina as the Student/District Wellness Committee representative.

Motion by Mary Rayome, seconded by Anne Lee to approve the recommended appointments. Motion carried unanimously.

President Krings stated that Committee meeting times would remain the same as the prior year as follows:

Committee Meeting Times:

- 1. Personnel Services Committee at 6:00 p.m.
- 2. Business Services Committee at 6:00 p.m.
- 3. Educational Services Committee immediately following, but not before <u>6:15</u> p.m.

President Krings stated that the seating arrangement will remain as in the prior year: Vice President Mary Rayome seated on the President's right, followed by Anne Lee, Sandra Hett, and the Student Representative. Superintendent Colleen Dickmann will sit on the President's left, followed by John Benbow, Larry Davis, and Katie Medina.

Dr. Dickmann reminded Board members that each one is entitled to a District e-mail account, reminded Board members to be aware of e-mail use in relation to the public records law and Board policy.

John Krings adjourned the meeting at 6:13 p.m.

John a. Mirag

John Krings - President

Larry Davis – Clerk

Maurine Hodgson - Secretary