

Wisconsin Rapids Board of Education

510 Peach Street · Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494 · (715) 424-6701

December 16, 2013

John A. Krings, President
John Benbow, Jr.
Larry Davis
Sandra K. Hett
Anne Lee
Katie Medina
Mary E. Rayome

SPECIAL BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING OPEN SESSION

LOCATION: Thomas A. Lenk Educational Center, 510 Peach Street, Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494

Conference Room A/B

TIME: 5:30 p.m.

PRESENT: John Krings, Sandra Hett, Mary Rayome, Anne Lee, John Benbow, Katie Medina, Larry Davis

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: Colleen Dickmann

President John Krings called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Roll Call (Mary Rayome arrived shortly after the roll call vote, at 5:43 p.m.)

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Larry Davis to move into closed session pursuant to Wis. Stats. \$19.85(1)(c)(f) for the purpose of considering wages and benefits for non-union, non-administrative employees; and individual administrator contract renewals/extensions, wages, benefits, and evaluative information. Motion carried unanimously on a roll call vote.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Mary Rayome to move into open session at 6:46 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Larry Davis to approve a 1% wage increase for the 2013-14 school year for Brian Peplinski (Network Support Specialist), Jean Westover (Instructional Software Support Specialist), Paul Peterson (Network Manager), and the confidential secretaries, retroactive to July 1, 2013. Motion carried unanimously on a roll call vote.

Motion by Larry Davis, seconded by John Benbow to approve a 1% wage increase for the 2013-14 school year for the administrative group, including Superintendent Dickmann, retroactive to July 1, 2013. Motion carried unanimously on a roll call vote.

Motion by Mary Rayome, seconded by Anne Lee to approve an increase of \$5,500.00 to Paul Peterson's salary effective December 2, 2013, and to allow for the acquisition of a fifth week of vacation one year in advance. The \$5,500.00 salary increase would be prorated and retroactive to December 2, 2013. Motion carried unanimously on a roll call vote.

Motion by Anne Lee, seconded by Katie Medina to approve an increase in Eric Brittnacher's (Technology AV) hourly wage from \$20.40 per hour to \$24.00 per hour effective and retroactive to November 1, 2013. Motion carried unanimously on a roll call vote.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Larry Davis to approve an increase of \$3,500.00 in Director of Food Service Julie Marie's salary effective July 1, 2013, to be paid from Fund 50. Motion carried unanimously on a roll call vote.

Motion by Mary Rayome, seconded by Larry Davis to approve to extend administrator contracts by one year through June 30, 2016, for the following administrators with the understanding that administrative assignment changes could occur during the term of the contract due to budgetary decisions made:

Edwin Allison Rodney Henke Patti Ritchay **Timothy Bruns** Leslie Lewison Amv Rvan Phillip Bickelhaupt Paul Mann Kelly Schaeffer Ryan Christianson Julie Marie Adam Spiegel **Trudy DeSimons Brian Oswall** Kathi Stebbins-Hintz Margie Dorshorst **Ronald Rasmussen Kevin Yeske** Tina Wallner **Tracy Ginter Matthew Renwick Daniel Weigand**

Motion carried unanimously on a roll call vote.

Motion by Katie Medina, seconded by Larry Davis to approve of a two-year contract for Superintendent Colleen Dickmann through June 30, 2016, with a one-year extension through June 30, 2017. Motion carried unanimously on a roll call vote.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Larry Davis to approve the recommendation to change the "Administrator Benefit Document" to eliminate sections related to *Merit Pay* and *Credit Unions/Banks*, and to add the words "on a pro-rated basis" to the *Vacation* section to clarify that cash pay-outs of accumulated vacation leave when administrators resign will be on a pro-rated basis, as is current practice. Motion carried unanimously.

President Krings adjourned the meeting at 6:55 p.m.

John A. Krings – President

Maurine Hodgson – Secretary

Sandra K. Hett – Clerk